Medicare Basics (The 4 Parts)

There are four parts of Medicare: Part A, Part B, Part C, and Part D.

Part A provides inpatient/hospital coverage.

Part B provides outpatient/medical coverage.

Part C offers an alternative way to receive your Medicare benefits (by bundling your Part A, Part B and in some cases Part D)

Part D provides prescription drug coverage.

Original Medicare is Parts A & B and is a traditional Fee-for-Service (FFS) Medicare. Under traditional Medicare, the government pays directly for the health care services you receive. You can see any doctor and hospital that takes Medicare (and most do) across the country. With Original Medicare you can get the care you need without permission/authorization from Medicare or your primary care doctor. You are responsible for a monthly premium for Part B (and in some cases Part A). You typically also pay a coinsurance for each service you receive.

If you would like prescription drug coverage with Original Medicare you will need to join a stand-alone Medicare private drug plan (PDP)

Alternatively you can decide to get your Medicare benefits from a Medicare Advantage Plan. With these plans you must still keep your Part A and Part B. Each of the Medicare Advantage Plans must provide all Part A and Part B services covered by Original Medicare, but they can also provide additional coverage such as Dental, Eyecare, and Hearing benefits. Medicare Advantage plans can assign different costs and restrictions that affect how and when you receive care.

If you would like to discuss your Medicare options contact one of our licensed agents today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *